Chicago Week; Vol. 8: Jerkwater – Drown – Dyslexic Records

I’m about ready to be done with Chicago Week so that I can go back to posting stuff I actually know about. The only thing I know about this one is that the drummer was also in Alkaline Trio. This one’s mid-tempo, kind of emo-y lyrics that 1998 was pretty known for, a style which would explode once the Y2K bug unleashed it’s payload on the oughts. 

Our first post from Dyslexic Records, which we’ll come back to shortly. I don’t know much about the label, only that the records they put out seemed to belong to a certain scene within the Chicago scene. You’ll see what I mean in a couple days.

Drown isn’t great, but certainly not bad at all. I’d probably have checked out Alkaline Trio a lot earlier if I’d have heard this when it came out. Because all records are judged on my “would I have checked out Alkaline Trio based on this record alone?” scale, you see? I am pretty certain that if I HAD heard this when it came out, it would be a favorite of mine today.

coverbackSide-1 Side-2Get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

