VA – Behind The Redwood Curtain – Small Harvest Records

Another comp from up north of the bay full of bands that very well could have been on a label like Lookout or Very Small. In fact, several were.

Underhand‘s Believe In Me was also on their Desire single on Mutant Pop. I can’t tell you how bummed I am that their full length never got officially released. Come on, Arne. It’s time.

Grout have that some of that country twang punk and roll sound that always sort of turned me off. Love Sewer Trout. Love The Gotohells. Most of the genre just leaves me feeling flat. Don’t really know anything about them other than that.

One Man Running – Their song (“Gotta Get a Job”) on Lookout’s Can of Pork comp remains one of my favorites by the band. Things I learned only recently about them:
1. Arne from Zoinks and Underhand (and Small Harvest Records, come to find out) was in One Man Running very briefly early on. Turns out, he actually wrote the lyrics to “Gotta Get a Job” and was no longer with the band by the time it was recorded for Can of Pork.
2. The One Man Running “Stress” 7″ was tacked on as a bonus track at the end of Fifteen’s Extra Medium Kickball Star CD. Read more about that amazing 7″ at Remote Outposts. 

Couch – Turned into Couch of Eureka. Put out a 7″ and an LP on Lookout as well as appeared on numerous comps.

coverbackSide-1Side-2

Get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to VA – Behind The Redwood Curtain – Small Harvest Records

  1. marcy says:

    Hey you have a great blog here lots of rar stuff.
    Have you some 7`’inches by the band I farm?

  2. veganboyjosh says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Marcy.

    I do have some Ifarm but not nearly as much as I used to. I’m not sure what happened to it, to be honest.

    When possible, I try to get permission from bands to post stuff. Am currently waiting for word back from Arun about what’s cool to post or not.

    Out of curiosity, how’d you come across the blog?

  3. marcy says:

    I came to your blog when I se arched for the Humble Beginnings/oblivion split.And then I saw more and more cool rar stuff that I was looking for a long time like the chicago stuff or the Uphill down ep.I have also alot of obscure music because its a hobby from me.Over the years I collected demo Tapes,vinyl,cd’s mostly from bands of USA.You compared Humble Beginnings with another band I love…your mother.I also have their demo tape Pasture of Muppets.
    So anyway I will follow your blog and post some comments.Sorry for my english I am from Germany.

  4. veganboyjosh says:

    Awesome. Glad you like it.

    Funny you have a Your Mother demo. Craigums and Brad stayed with me at my parents house when I lived in Mannheim.

    Don’t apologize for your English. It’s better than a lot of Americans’ English. Meine Deustch ist sooo schlect.

  5. marcy says:

    Yeah thats true.You also mentioned very small records.I think about 10 years ago or so I ordered the schlong/one eye open and Guano Starfighter lp directly from David Hayes.He gave me as bonus a cdr with the schlong demo.I also have the False Sacrament Demo tape they did before the split 10inch with schlong.

  6. veganboyjosh says:

    Oh man, I would love to hear everything you just mentioned.

Leave a Reply

