Skimmer – Uncool – Crackle! Records

Crackle! is a British pop punk label that I became aware of sometime in 1996 or 1997. I sent some (well-concealed) cash to Mutant Pop in exchange for some American pop punk records and a 7″ on Crackle! by a band called Toast (and possibly some other stuff). I’m not sure why I no longer have that Toast 7″ as it’s one of my favorites of theirs. Huge bummer.

Rest assured what I do still have with the Crackle! label I won’t be parting with anytime soon. Like today’s record, Uncool. If you had told me this was a Japanese pop punk band from 1995, I would totally believe you and I mean that in the best way possible. They rock that sort of Cigaretteman sound that is so very 1995-era Snuffy Smiles.

It’s weird to think that this band was happening when I was living a few hours away in Germany. I remember being super into pop punk at the time, and going to German record stores (even the punky ones with mohawked employees, etc) and trying to get info on pop punk bands or records, and just getting a blank stare or worse, shitty horrible recommendations for “cow punk” or similar other weird genres I had zero interest in or use for. I wish I would have known there was this whole scene of bands in the UK who were playing this great type of pop punk when I was so damn close. I probably would have even made a trip to visit the UK; I’ve still never been.

Skimmer still play out, I guess, and are active on the facebook. Pretty sure at least some of the members have gone on to play in other bands, but who those are is left as an exercise for the reader. I’ve got a couple more 7″s from them I hope to have up soon. 

Observant readers will notice the catalog included here. As I’ve said before, I don’t normally include these in the downloads or in the artwork, but this one has some great other bands listed and if you’re reading this, I encourage you to check those out as well. I hope to get some records by some of those bands posted once they come up in the queue. Also of note is that Crackle was a/the UK/Euro Mutant Pop distro for a time. Hence the Mutant Pop records on the catalog slip below and me buying this one from the basement of a shoe store in Oregon instead of a PO Box in Leeds.

(I specifically avoided comparing the two labels until now not because they’re dissimilar, but because doing so wouldn’t have been nearly as interesting as my story about never having been to the UK. It’s a perfectly cromulent comparison. If you dig bands on one, you’ll probably dig the ones on the other.)

coverbackinsert Side-1

Side-2catalog

Get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

