VA – Fueled By Ramen/Rhetoric Records 8″ Flexi Split Comp

The story of how I procured this record is identical to that of the Fun Fun Attitude demo tape I posted 3 and a half years ago. In a nutshell, I sent some money to Polyvinyl Records, with note about “I’m not so into the emo records you’re putting out. Can you just load me up with some random poppy punk stuff you’ve received?” and a few weeks later, a box showed up with this thing in it.

Not much to say here about this that isn’t explained on the back cover art. Front cover art by Nørb himself. Shocking, I know.

Mulligan Stu are from Rockford, IL but if you told me this song was an early demo from a certain pop punk band from Lafayette, IN who put out several records on Lookout, I would not have questioned it. Yet, there’s no direct connection. What exactly was in the water in the midwest in the 90’s?

I’ll admit that I don’t know anything about the Sonic Dolls. I probably should. They (or this song, anyway) is pretty firmly seating well within the bounds of Midwest 90’s pop punk. Just looked them up. They’re from Germany. I wasn’t going to mention the slightly accented English singing, but in that context, it makes perfect sense. If you’re a regular reader of 1000 Yesterdays and/or the stuff I’ve been posting, you’ll likely dig them.

When I got this record in the mail, I was probably most excited to have a new Less Than Jake. My horizons have since been expanded, and I’m more into the Mulligan Stu and Boris songs now. Don’t get me wrong, this song is still pretty great. Less Than Jake just aren’t as high on my Bands I Want To Listen To Right Now list as they used to be.

Really? You’ve read this far and you expect me to tell you something about Boris The Sprinkler that you don’t already know? Reminds me of The Ramones. But not in the MTX “They kind of remind him of Green Day” way. Like in the “these sound like Ramones lyrics and delivery. Are you SURE this isn’t a Ramones cover? Really? Check again.” kind of way.

coverSide-1back

Get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to VA – Fueled By Ramen/Rhetoric Records 8″ Flexi Split Comp

  1. marcy says:

    This little comp is not so special in my opinion,standout track is less than jake but I think everyone knows this song from one of their compilation albums.
    But whats with the Take out box sampler with shower with goats,boxcar,hippos and supermarket all stars?

  2. veganboyjosh says:

    I’ve heard of that thing, and seen photos of it online, but never seen one in person. By the time it came out in 1996, I had moved to Germany and kind of lost track of what LTJ was up to. I sort of vaguely got into collecting their 7″s at one point, but once it became clear that they were doing more of a “let’s put out wonky colors and records and collectible things that have nothing to do with records” thing, i sort of lost interest. I really am not interested in collecting bobbleheads or whatever.

    I’m sure if I had come across the take out box thing, I’d feel differently, but I didn’t, so here I am.

  3. marcy says:

    I must say I liked their records up to their fat wreck debut Borders and Boundaries.Then it became some kind of sell out thing and I lost interest .They had this split 7′ with the group pung and I always searched for the Danarchy 7inch by them but with no luck.Have you got this slab of vinyl in your collection?

  4. veganboyjosh says:

    I’m afraid I don’t have either of those. Sorry.

  5. marcy says:

    No problem but you should do florida week in the future.So many amazing bands from the past came from this state like Discount,Hot Water Music,Vacant Andys,Quit and so on…

  6. veganboyjosh says:

    Well, Chicago Week about killed me and I kind of lost interest in posting updates after that. Am just now kind of getting back into it. But yeah, there will be more from Florida, rest assured.

Leave a Reply

