Various Artists – Lump Of Coal

Every year, my friends on the internet and I hash it out over what the best punk Christmas song of all time is. Is it The Ramones’ Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight)? Fear’s Fuck Christmas? The Pogues’ Fairytale of New York? The Kinks’ Father Christmas? Danny Says by the Ramones? The Angry Snowmans?
All close, and all at the top of the list, but no, it’s none of those. It’s the Showcase Showdown’s Merry Christmas, I Fucked Your Snowman. That is obviously hands down the best punk Christmas song ever.
That said, the SECOND best Christmas song is actually one of the ones above. The Kinks’ song about a shopping mall santa being held up and robbed by a bunch of thugs in my mind perfectly captures the essence of what this season is all about. I’m not going to post a Kinks song on this here blog. You’ll have to dig that up elsewhere for yourself.
But I’m certainly not above posting a cover of the Kinks song. As far as I know, the only cover of that song. By, what I’m sure is clear now, is one of my favorite bands of all time, Everready. Amid other Southern California mid-90’s pop punk bands covering Christmas classics, you’ll find Jon Cougar Concentration Camp, Dodgeball, Spazboy, Carter Peace Mission, and Third Rale. Dodgeball offers up the snarkiest version of Blue Christmas I’ve ever heard. Carter Peace Mission brings new levels of awesomeness to Good King Wenceslas. And somehow, Second String (who One Sided War tells me is an all star band made up of members of other bands on this record) manages to cram all 12 verses of the 12 Days of Christmas into under 3 minutes. About the only thing this album lacks in order to be perfect is Tiltwheel covering Wonderful Christmas Time.

coverinside1inside2CDback

It’s now the day after Thanksgiving and officially Christmas music season. Go ahead and blast the Pogues and the Ramones and Fear and Elvis and Bing and Barbra Streisand and Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass. But start with this one. Methinks  you’ll slide those others to the back of the queue more than once this season.

Get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Various Artists – Lump Of Coal

  1. BigJon says:

    Hey You might have the best music collection I have ever seen! Do you every think about how a lot of the stuff you have might be the only copy left on earth? That is crazy to think about. Anyway I know there are huge time gaps between posts which means your a busy person. But can you please post some more stuff from Florida in the 90’s. I have a cloud account with a ton of stuff I’d be more then willing to share with you but you seem like you like tangible music. Keep up the good works and thanks.

  2. veganboyjosh says:

    Thanks for the kind words, BigJon.

    I have often wondered what happened to the other copies of some of this stuff. Surely SOMEONE has a copy, right? I once got a wild hair idea to start buying up every copy of a specific 7″ that I could find. I have no idea how many they pressed, but I kept seeing it on ebay for cheap and just kept buying them. I think i made it to 4 or 5 copies, but wound up giving them away as gifts.

    As luck would have it, I’m working on putting together a collection of Florida based stuff soon. Similar to the “Chicago Week” I did last year, but not nearly as ambitious. We’re in the process of buying a house, so ripping records, scanning covers, and all the rest has taken an even further back seat than they already had.

    In the meantime, any requests?

    And yeah, anything you wanna share, I’d love to check out. I definitely love records and CDs and tapes but am certainly not above hoarding digital music as well. Email me? Thanks again for the comments and for reading the blog. Hopefully once we get moved, I’ll be able to put some more time towards this thing.

    veganboyjosh@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

